Balls

Once again I took a leap of faith in going to see a show I knew absolutely nothing about except that a friend of mine was directing it and it was called Balls to which all the marketing materials were a seemingly naked man with the title of the show covering up his nads.

2015-balls

As it turns out, this show was part of the rEvolver Festival at The Cultch.  And it was “all about taking RISKS”.  And it was a risk that probably shouldn’t have been taken.

After learning more about the show, it certainly was an interesting concept, but it didn’t transfer well from idea to stage.  The show was unscripted, for the most part and centred around the fears of cast members and how they reacted to facing them live.  I don’t think the risks were high enough or edgy enough to make a show out of.  One cast member was challenged to order a pizza because he had never ordered for delivery before.  Another was challenged to go on a date with an audience member (during the duration of the show) because of her fear of relationships.  It turned out that the man chosen was actually one of her best friends and played for the other team.

Did I enjoy it?  Yes.  For the most part, but mainly because of the supportive friend that I am.  If I didn’t know anyone involved, I probably would have not mentioned it at all.

http://www.upintheairtheatre.com/balls-vancouver

Leave a comment